The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Nobel Prizes
The Nobel Prize for Peace

A committee of five elected by the Norwegian Storting (Parliament) is responsible for choosing the recipient(s) of the Nobel Prize for Peace.

obverse of the Nobel Prize for Peace

The face of the Peace Prize shows Alfred Nobel in a pose slightly different from that of the other medals. The obverse depicts a group of three men forming a fraternal bond. The inscription reads Pro pace et fraternitate gentium, which translates to "For the peace and brotherhood of men." The medal was designed by Gustav Vigeland.

1901-1910 | 1911-1920 | 1921-1930 | 1931-1940 | 1941-1950 | 1951-1960 | 1961-1970 | 1971-1980 | 1981-1990 | 1991-2000 | 2001-2010 | 2011-

[all links below will open in a new window]

1901 Jean Henri Dunant, Frédéric Passy
1902 Élie Ducommun, Charles Albert Gobat
1903 Sir William R. Cremer
1904 Institute of International Law
1905 Baroness Bertha von Suttner
1906 Theodore Roosevelt
1907 Ernesto T. Moneta, Louis Renault
1908 Klas Pontus Arnoldson,Fredrik Bajer
1909 Auguste M.F. Beernaert, Paul d'Estournelles
1910 International Peace Bureau

1911 Tobias M.C. Asser, Alfred H. Fried
1912 Elihu Root
1913 Henri Lafontaine
1914-1916 no award given
1919 International Red Cross
1918 no award given
1919 Woodrow Wilson
1920 Léon Bourgeois

1921 Karl Hjalmar Branting, Christian Louis Lange
1922 Fridtjof Nansen
1923-1924 no award given
1925 Sir Austen Chamberlain, Charles G. Dawes
1926 Aristide Briand, Gustav Stresemann
1927 Ferdinand Buisson, Ludwig Quidde
1928 no award given
1929 Frank Billings Kellogg
1930 Nathan Söderblom

1931 Jane Addams, Nicholas M. Butler
1932 no award given
1933 Sir Norman Angell, League of Nations, National Peace Council.
1934 Arthur Henderson
1935 Carl von Ossietzky (award delayed until 1936)
1936 Carlos Saavedra Lamas
1937 Edgar Algernon Robert Gascoyne Cecil
1938 International Office for Refugees
1939-1943 no award given

1944 International Red Cross
1945 Cordell Hull
1946 John R. Mott, Emily G. Balch
1947 Friends Service Council, American Friends Service Committee
1948 no award given
1949 John Boyd Orr
1950 Ralph Bunche

1951 Léon Jouhaux
1952 Albert Schweitzer (award delayed until 1953)
1953 George C. Marshall
1954 Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (award delayed until 1955)
1955-1956 no award given
1957 Lester B. Pearson
1958 Father Dominique Pire
1959 Philip Noel-Baker
1960 Albert John Luthuli

1961 Dag Hammarskjöld
1962 Linus Pauling
1963 International Committee of the Red Cross, The League of Red Cross Societies
1964 Martin Luther King, Jr.
1965 United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
1966-1967 no award given
1968 René Cassin
1969 International Labor Organization
1970 Norman E. Borlaug

1971 Willy Brandt
1972 no award given
1973 Henry A. Kissinger, Le Duc Tho (Le Duc Tho declined the prize)
1974 Sean MacBride, Eisaku Sato
1975 Andrei Dmitriyevich Sakharov
1976 Mairead Corrigan, Betty Williams (award delayed until 1977)
1977 Amnesty International
1978 Anwar al-Sadat, Menachem Begin
1979 Mother Teresa
1980 Adolfo Pérez Esquivel

1981 Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Alva Myrdal, Alfonso García Robles
Lech Walesa
Desmond Tutu
International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
Elie Wiesel
Oscar Arias Sánchez
United Nations Peacekeeping Forces
The 14th Dalai Lama
Mikhail Gorbachev

1991 Aung San Suu Kyi
Rigoberta Menchú Tum
Nelson Mandela, F.W. de Klerk
Yasser Arafat, Shimon Peres, Yitzhak Rabin
Joseph Rotblat and the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs
Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo, José Ramos-Horta
International Campaign to Ban Landmines, Jody Williams
John Hume, David Trimble
Médecins Sans Frontičres
Kim Dae-jung

2001 United Nations, Kofi Annan
James Earl Carter
Shirin Ebadi
Wangari Maathai
International Atomic Energy Agency, Mohamed El Baradei
Muhammad Yunus, Grameen Bank
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), Albert Arnold Gore, Jr.
2008 Martti Ahtisaari
2009 Barack Obama
Liu Xiaobo

2011 Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, Tawakkul Karman
European Union
Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
Kailash Satyarthi, Malala Yousafzai
2015 National Dialogue Quartet
Juan Manuel Santos
2017 International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Nobel Prizes

This page was last updated on December 07, 2018.